aeif_cond_exp - Conductance based exponential integrate-and-fire neuron  
model according to Brette and Gerstner (2005).

aeif_cond_exp is the adaptive exponential integrate and fire neuron
according to Brette and Gerstner (2005), with post-synaptic
conductances in the form of truncated exponentials.

This implementation uses the embedded 4th order Runge-Kutta-Fehlberg
solver with adaptive stepsize to integrate the differential equation.

The membrane potential is given by the following differential equation:
C dV/dt= -g_L(V-E_L)+g_L*Delta_T*exp((V-V_T)/Delta_T)-g_e(t)(V-E_e)
-g_i(t)(V-E_i)-w +I_e


tau_w * dw/dt= a(V-E_L) -W

Note that the spike detection threshold V_peak is automatically set to
V_th+10 mV to avoid numerical instabilites that may result from
setting V_peak too high.

C_m double - Capacity of the membrane in pF
t_ref double - Duration of refractory period in ms.
V_reset double - Reset value for V_m after a spike. In mV.
E_L double - Leak reversal potential in mV.
g_L double - Leak conductance in nS.
I_e double - Constant external input current in pA.

Spike adaptation parameters:
a double - Subthreshold adaptation in nS.
b double - Spike-triggered adaptation in pA.
Delta_T double - Slope factor in mV
tau_w double - Adaptation time constant in ms
V_t double - Spike initiation threshold in mV
V_peak double - Spike detection threshold in mV.

Synaptic parameters
E_ex double - Excitatory reversal potential in mV.
tau_syn_ex double - Rise time of excitatory synaptic conductance in ms (exp
E_in double - Inhibitory reversal potential in mV.
tau_syn_in double - Rise time of the inhibitory synaptic conductance in ms
(exp function).

Integration parameters
gsl_error_tol double - This parameter controls the admissible error of the
GSL integrator. Reduce it if NEST complains about
numerical instabilities.

SpikeEvent, CurrentEvent, DataLoggingRequest  


Brette R and Gerstner W (2005) Adaptive Exponential  
Integrate-and-Fire Model as an Effective Description of
Neuronal Activity. J Neurophysiol 94:3637-3642

Adapted from aeif_cond_alpha by Lyle Muller; full revision by Tanguy  
Fardet on December 2016

SeeAlso: Source: